Upload this…

Yes, it’s time for another installment of:

Cool Tools!   <cue cheesy intro muzak>

In this edition, we’ll take a look at the little wonder known as PixelPipe.

logo_beta

PixelPipe is simple in nature, but is a true time saver for folks who upload pictures to the internet. Basically, it’s a single conduit to over 50 social media websites and more are being added all the time.

How’s it work? Here’s an example:

I have a blog hosted at WordPress.com, a flickr acct, a Twitter acct, a Picasa acct, and a Facebook acct. Say I want to upload some pictures to each one. This could be a very time consuming task. Picking the same pictures 5 times, going through the web interface for each service to upload the images… Not the way I want to spend 30 or 45 minutes. PixelPipe make it dead simple. I installed the PixelPipe exporter for iPhoto (I have a Mac – there are many Windows options as well – more on that later) set up my “pipes” on the PixelPipe website and uploaded my pictures to 5 different social media sites in less than 20 seconds.

Done.

Your first step to getting started is signing up for a free account at www.pixelpipe.com. From there, you set up your “pipes”. There are currently over 50 sites PixelPipe works with including Twitter, WordPress, TypePad, Flickr, Picasa, Photobucket, ShutterFly, and YouTube. You can even upload to email or an FTP site.

Getting your pictures to the PixelPipe service is the next step. There are installable tools for Windows, Mac and Linux. You can email or MMS your photos from your phone, use a firefox extension, or install the PixelPipe app on your iPhone.

Once the pictures are uploaded, PixelPipe routes them to the sites that you have configured and your work is done. Depending on the site, it’ll even post a blog entry or send a tweet (from twitter) automatically. With WordPress.com for instance, I can set PixelPipe to upload my pictures and post an entry with those pictures to my blog.

Dead. Simple.

Happy Uploading!

2 comments

  1. Jeff

    Dude,

    YOU
    NEED
    HELP…
    Seriously, I think we need a Mac intervention… Every Mac-head I know goes from PC to Mac and slowly…..loses….their…..non…..Mac….self!

    I think that Apple may be the Sirens of the 2000’s. Once you start to listen, you’re done for…

    šŸ™‚

    BTW – 80 and sunny. again. ho-hum.

  2. Erik

    Hey – the service works on Windows too…

    I use Windows at work. It pays the bills. Shoot, if it didn’t suck so bad, I’d be out of a job!

    20 degrees and 4 inches of snow…. Chump.

Leave a Reply

