I Wish…

I wish our electricity was finished being upgraded so we could turn on the air conditioning and had a stove to make dinner

I wish our plumbing wasn’t so crappy and the clog in the tub drain wouldn’t prevent us from using the shower or sink.

I wish my car would stop requiring large sums of money to repair

I wish gas wasn’t so expensive

I wish I had more time to get to the gym

You know what though?

I’m thankful I have electricity to see with at night and run the house.

I’m thankful for the indoor plumbing and running water.

I’m thankful I have not only one car, but two that reliably get my family where we need to go.

I’m thankful for being able to buy gas to fuel my car and heat my house.

I’m thankful for my health and that I have no serious illnesses.

We’re a blessed country. I pray that I always remember that and thank God for all He’s given me every day.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.

Philippians 4:6

2 comments

  1. Tristi

    I really appreciate this post, Erik! Good reminder that when we’re grumbling, the solution is to be thankful. We are blessed in so many ways!

  2. Pingback: 35 things - Monday « Brain Nuggets

Leave a Reply

