Mmmmm… Bacon

Simps005

My buddy, Kelly, over at Vegetable Soup posted today about her (and the kids’ ) love of tofu bacon.  Towards the end of the post she mentions that her bacon and dark chocolate truffles are two things that she’ll be stingy with when it comes to sharing with the children.  I couldn’t help but recall an episode of The Simpsons where Homer is driving down the road and a bacon truck and fudge truck collide… Here’s how the dialog went:

Homer Simpson:
Dear Lord, as I think of you dressed in white with your splendid beard, I am reminded of Colonel Sanders, who is now seated at your right hand, shoveling popcorn chicken into thy mouth. Lord, could you come up with a delicious news taste treat like he did? I command you.

[Homer closes his eyes and claps his hands, and his car swerves into oncoming traffic. A hot fudge truck overturns, flooding the road, and then a Johnny Bench’s Pre-cooked Bacon truck smashes into it. A piece of fudge-coated bacon lands on Homer’s windshield, and he grabs it and takes a bite.]

Homer Simpson:
Mmmm. Move over, eggs. Bacon just got a new best friend — fudge.

In finding the dialog for this post, I stumbled upon this unholy creation:

http://tinyurl.com/5w5ha5

A chocolate bar with bacon bits… it made me gag at first, but maybe it’s good… From what I read you can pick one up at a Whole Foods Market.

Roadtrip!

3 comments

  1. Lo

    Sweet and salty have always been great companions (like the carmel and cheese popcorn combo at that popcorn place downtown – can you tell I’m not an original Chicagoan). While this odd pairing of bacon and chocolate sounds a bit unappetizing, I suspect Homer is onto something.

    Have you ever had chocolate-covered potato chips? Hevenly!!!

  2. Kelly

    chocolate & bacon together at last?

    I don’t know Erik…I just don’t know…

    However, Lo – the place you are referring to is Garrett’s Popcorn – and yes, the Chicago mix is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

