Matthew 5:44

I came across these three prints today in my floatings around the internet…

LYE Hand

LYE Hitler

LYE Osama

I had a hard time figuring out my feelings about them at first. These are two people we have been programmed to hate unconditionally. Christ calls us to love our enemies. To pray for them. Should we accept their actions? No. You need to be held accountable for what you do. But as humans, they are no different than you or I in the eyes of God. The Father extends grace and mercy to everyone – so should we.

I have more to say, but will hold off for a bit. What are your thoughts?

One comment

  1. Eva

    I think these are wonderful. It is the ultimate challenge – “do good to those that hate you, pray for those who use you and persecute you” not just “try to avoid saying anything too ugly about those who hate and persecute you.” Jesus didn’t die for a bunch of nice people who would have found their way to Heaven anyway – He died for a bunch of reprobates, because that’s what all of us are. Hitler apparently didn’t turn from unbelief before his death, Bin Laden apparently hasn’t yet turned from it, though he could, if God enabled him to have saving faith.

    I like having my comfortable assumptions challenged this way. It’s incredibly humbling to remember that “if anyone keeps the whole law yet offends in one point, he is guilty of all” – the only reason I can claim to be “good” in God’s eyes is because Jesus’ goodness is subbed in where my badness is.

    This a really good reminder of what salvation actually is. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

