The Shadow Proves the Sunshine

Sunday, my pastor, Dennis, talked about satisfaction. One of the main points was being satisfied with the blessings we’ve been given – no matter what they are. He mentioned an 85%/15% scale where the best we’ll ever find is 85%. In other words, there will always be something that we don’t like (that’s the 15%). What we need to do is hold onto the 85% and be satisfied and grateful for it.

More often than not, I have a hard time doing this. The 15% seems like it’s too hard to let go of. I should be satisfied with owning a house – instead, I complain about the fact that we need to redo the electric and plumbing. We have 2 cars – but mine’s 9 years old. I have a great job – but more $$$ would be nice.

Where am I going with this? Today, on the way to work, I popped in a Switchfoot CD. “The Shadow Proves the Sunshine” came on. The lyrics hit me like a ton of bricks.

We are crooked souls trying to stay up straight,
Dry eyes in the pouring rain
The shadow proves the sunshine
The shadow proves the sunshine

Shine on me,
Let my shadows prove the sunshine

I hope, despite my focus on the 15%, my shadows prove the sunshine.

4 comments

  1. watrfalls20

    shadow proves the sunshine indeed… when there’s a shadow that just means there’s light… thanks šŸ™‚ will google this song, i think i wanna hear the rest of this…

Leave a Reply

